Search This Blog for Authors, Publishers, Reviewers and Books

Add Your Logo or Avatar to This New Book Review Reader List:

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Teel James Glenn Brings Us Fantasy Full of Swords and Adventure

Sister Warrior
By Teel James Glenn
Edited by Joan McNulty Pulver, Felicia Ellis, and Debi Markee
Author’s email: TeelJamesGlenn@yahoo.com
Genre: Fantasy/ Sword and Sorcery
Published by ePress-Online Inc.
Website: ePress-Online.com
Publisher’s email: ePress-Online.com
Isbn#: 978-1-934258-15-6
Published May 2008
184 Pages
$14.99 paperback
$5.00 e-book


Reviewed by Lee for Fantasybookreivew.co.uk by Lee:

Sister Warrior is classic heroic fantasy, full to the brim with swords and sorcery. The book begins with a flourish and after a short prologue we join our blue-furred heroine, Ku’zn, as she sets out to free her brother from slavery...

I liked the descriptiveness of the author in regards to his characters; the attention to detail really pays off and allows the reader to form strong mental images… Relationships are integral to the story; Sister Warrior differs from the majority of fantasy in that it is not afraid to feature same-sex relationships. I found this refreshing as the fantasy genre has to move with the times and books like this will further promote acceptance in the “real” world.

Teel James Glenn has great experience as a fight choreographer and swordsman and he utilizes all of his knowledge and skill to produce truly breathtaking fight scenes. These sections are extremely important to a heroic / sword and sorcery book and this is where Sister Warrior really shines…

Fans of Robert E. Howard, Michael Moorcock and David Gemmell will enjoy Sister Warrior. The action is fast-paced, the excitement constant. Sister Warrior is just one Novel of Altiva and although knowledge of the prior books is not essential to enjoy this tale it will provide the reader with a greater understanding of the character. If you’re looking for an action-packed, sensual fantasy, then you need look no further.


Eight out of Ten stars

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've loved. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by author names, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the index handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

No comments: