Treat Yourself to Literary and Poetry Books!

Search This Blog for Authors, Publishers, Reviewers and Books

Loading...

Add Your Logo or Avatar to This New Book Review Reader List:

Sunday, January 25, 2015

An Author's Complete Guide for Using Book Fairs to Market Books

Title: Book Fairs for Authors
Subtitle: How to Leverage Book Fairs to Build Your Author Platform
Authors: Larry DeKay with Peggy DeKay
ISBN: 9780983414438
Genre: Nonfiction: Writing, Book Marketing, Reference
Publisher: Darby Press
Bonus Materials: Lists of book fairs, book festival, resources for authors, book expos and trade shows
 
 
Marketing whizzes Larry and Peggy DeKay have published Book Fairs for Authors: How to Leverage Book Fairs to Build Your Author Platform. Here’s what I love about it above and beyond what I wrote about book fairs in my The Frugal Book Promoter: The couple includes a lot of resources including lists of book fairs, book festivals, book expos, and trade shows and tells how book fairs can “impact speaking opportunities.” Peggy says, “Your book is not your baby… your book is your business.”
 
-----
Larry DeKay is a marketing strategist and event planner for The Business of Writing Today (Darby Press) and the Business of Writing Summit. He is also cohost of The Business of Writing Today podcast heard in over eighty countries. Peggy DeKay, award-winning author, speaker, and book coach, is his business partner.  


-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage thse reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Author Loves Valerie Allen's How-To Book for Authors

Title: Write, Publish, Sell!: Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Ideas for the Marketing Challenged 2nd Edition
Author: Valerie Allen
Author's Web site: www.ValerieAllenWriter.com
Genre: Non-fiction, Reference for Authors and Writing
ISBN 10: 1480043850
ISBN 13: 978 1480043855
Format: book and ebook
Purchase at: Amazon.com
For writers, new and experienced, as they move from writing to publication and marketing of their work. Practical suggestions to create and increase sales.

Reviewed by Jay Heavner, originally for Amazon  5 Star Review


This book is well worth the money. The information inside is very helpful in the fields of writing, getting published, and SELLING. I especially liked the part about SELLING. Once you have written your work, and found a publisher, you have to SELL. I have gotten my money back many, many times over with her helpful hints. You don't need to reinvent the wheel. Valerie Allen has written a great 'how to' book. She shares the short cuts she has learned the hard way. You will be a satisfied customer, take it from the author of, "Braddock's Gold," also on Amazon. You need this book.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Valerie Allen, psychologist, author, and speaker, writes fiction, nonfiction, and children's books. Her articles and short stories have been published in newspapers, online, in literary journals, and educational and mental health magazines.

She conducts seminars for educators, parents, medical and mental health professionals based on her motivational, self help book, Beyond the Inkblots: Confusion to Harmony. Professionally, she is a member of the National and Florida Association of School Psychologists, and board certified by the National Association of School Psychologists.

She is a popular speaker at writer's conferences, libraries, and community events using her book: Write, Publish, Sell! Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Ideas for the Marketing Challenged 2nd Edition.

She has written children's books for independent readers in grades three to five, Summer School for Smarties and Bad Hair, Good Hat, New Friends. She conducts workshops for students to foster their talent and creativity.

She is a member of the Space Coast Writer’s Guild, the National League of American PEN Women, Cape Canaveral Branch, and serves on the Board of Directors for The Creative Arts Foundation of Brevard, FL

She is also co-founder of Authors for Authors,which sponsors book fairs, book launches, and writing seminars for new and experienced writers.

Valerie Allen can be contacted via Facebook.com/Valerie.Allen.520, Twitter, VallenWriter@cs.com or http://ValerieAllenWriter.com 

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Author Love, Loves, Loves New Book for Authors

 
 
Title: Writing from the Senses 
Author: Laura Deutsch
Published: May 2014
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN 978-1-61180-044-9

 
Reviewed by Simi Silva originally for Goodreads 
 
 
          As soon as I saw the title ‘Writing from the Senses’ and read its description, I had to get my hands on this book. I couldn’t wait to delve in and find out the secret to writing a better novel. My glossy review copy with the inviting autumn lake scene on the cover arrived in the mail within two days, and I immediately tore open the package and started right in. Thankfully there wasn’t anything else vying for my attention at the time. I planned on reading it once through and then go back and make notes and do the exercises so that I could properly see the progress I could make on my novel which was sitting dejected in the corner collecting a film of dust. The idea tap on how to improve and finish it had run dry.
 
          Honestly, I only made it through the first run-through before the motivation to get working on the manuscript was running high. Every chapter gave me so many ideas that I really wanted to write them all down, and I should have but dang, I wanted to keep reading and savoring every morsel of every page, every paragraph, sentence and word the author had put before me. Yet without even doing the exercises at the end of each chapter, my creativity had been ignited and I was more than ready to revitalize my writing!  (Side note: I will definitely go back and reread it, make many notes in the margins, and do the exercises.)
 
            I started with one scene in the middle of the manuscript and before I knew it things were being described so vividly that it not only transformed the scene, but the storyline itself began to blossom, taking on a life of its own. Scene by scene I started changing things around, adding more depth to them and the characters within. My fingers were flying across the keyboard trying to keep up with my brain. Now instead of telling what was happening, I was showing the reader through descriptions via every one of our glorious senses. And I wondered, why didn’t I see any of this before?
 
          Maybe because as storytellers we’re programmed to tell the story. But by learning to write from the senses we allow the reader and ourselves in the process to enter into the characters’ head and feel like we are actually there with them.
 
When we are in tune to our senses we live more deeply, more productively. New memories are created and old ones relived. The suggestion is to keep a small notebook with you at all times and write these sensory experiences down as they happen or at least shortly afterwards. Capture the moment. For instance, what images, feelings or memories come to mind when I say - freshly baked bread with dollops of creamy butter melting into every crevice, warm sunlight shining through the mist onto the dew-kissed grass on a cool spring morning, the sweet fragrant scent and silky hair of a newborn baby, the sharp pain and instant rising heat from a wasp’s sting, or the delightful crunching sound of a car slowly driving over gravel? Internalize and make it personal. Now write about it.
 
            This just touches the surface of what ‘Writing from the Senses’ is all about. Travel to the exotic places the author has traveled to and relate to the same emotions which she and some of her students have through their amazing pieces of writing, along with trying out the 59 exercises that are certain to ignite and revitalize your writing.
 
            If you want to know the secret of how to take your writing to the next level, this is the book for you. Having it as a valuable reference guide with all the exercises and writing prompts in and of itself is a must for professional writers, those on their way to becoming professional writers, and those who just write for the sheer pleasure of writing.
Also, if you are in Mill Valley, California, sign up for one or more of Ms. Deutsch’s classes. Be sure to check out her website – http://www.lauradeutsch.com 

MORE ABOUT THE REVIEWER
Simran Silva is the author of  Tangible Dreams is available on Amazon.
“Sometimes, words alone aren’t enough to express how you feel…but set those words to melody, and you have music that says it all. If you’re in love, watch and share this with your special someone.” ~ Navin Kundra

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Friday, January 16, 2015

Midwest Review Raves About Book as Author Aid

Title: Book Fairs for Authors
Subtitle: How to Leverage Book Fairs to Build Your Author Platform
Authors: Larry DeKay with Peggy DeKay
Authors' Website: www.tbowt.com
Genre/Category: Writing – Reference – How-To
ISBN: 9780983414438
Journal Published: Small Press Bookwatch: January 2015
 
 
 
Reviewed by Jim Cox originally for Midwest Book Review and for MidWest Book Review Newsletter 


Synopsis: Dozens of book fair links are included in "The Author's Guide to Book Fairs", an essential resource and reference for all authors, both traditionally published and self-published, who want to learn how to leverage book fairs to build their platform and sell more books. "Book Fairs For Authors" covers  why you go to a book fair; who can be in a book fair; where to find book fairs; applying to be in a book fair; preparing to go to the book fair; tips on engaging buyers at the book fair; post book fair marketing; and book fair traps and pitfalls. "Book Fairs For Authors" is enhanced with the inclusion of a list of book fairs by state; a list of book festivals by state; resources for authors; book expos and trade shows.

Critique: Informed, informative, exceptionally well organized and presented, as well as thoroughly 'user friendly' from beginning to end, "Book Fairs For Authors" should be considered mandatory reading for authors and publishers who hope to expand the audience for their books -- and the financial revenues that expanded readership would engender.


 

 

-----

The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Reviewer in wordy, nerdy heaven!

Teatime with Mrs. Grammar Person
By Barbara Venkataraman


Genre: Language & Grammar  
ASIN: B00RUQY6B6
Available on Amazon
Five-Stars for Kindle edition
 

 
Reviewed by D. A. Sarac of The Editing Pen

Oh the joy, the delight, the thrill of perusing these beautiful pages. Reference information with character. Lessons with spunk. And a sweet little story going on in the background. Which is my favorite? The one in verse (truly amazing) or the language of love--or the one about malapropisms? Get your sticky notes ready and brew some tea. What a find. I'm in heaven. I'm in nerdy, wordy heaven.

 
 

 
THE BLURB
 Fear not, Gentle Writer, Mrs. Grammar Person is here and she has the answers to all of the questions you never thought to ask. As a dedicated and serious grammarian, she will do what it takes to be entertaining and enlightening, but never vulgar or coarse. Heavens, no! Where are her smelling salts? Warm and witty, Mrs. G.P. makes grammar interesting with rhyming, wishful thinking, story-telling and a champagne toast. You are cordially invited to join her for a spot of tea!
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Learn more about Barbara Venkataraman at  www.barbaravenkataraman.blogspot.com. She is author of the Jamie Quinn Mystery Series & the “Quirky Essays for Quirky People” Series, three-time winner of the “Indie Book of the Day” Award, anHonorable Mention in the Readers’ Favorite Contest for nonfiction humor.
 
-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.