Treat Yourself to Literary and Poetry Books!

Search This Blog for Authors, Publishers, Reviewers and Books

Loading...

Add Your Logo or Avatar to This New Book Review Reader List:

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Suzanne Lummis Endorses "Old Woman" Book of Poetry

 
Title: Persons of Interest
Author: Lorine Parks
Genre: poetry
Publisher: Los Nietos Press, 2015, 95 pages
ISBN: 9780692307007
It's available on Amazon for $13.50.

Blurb from Suzanne Lummis, poet and instructor in poetry for UCLA Extension Writers' Program
 
“Among these charming and inventive poems we get, as part of the bargain, the wonderful "Old Woman" series. Women of all ages will emphasize. Women writers of all ages will be jealous they hadn't thought of it first. I know I am.” SUZANNE LUMMIS
-----

The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Five-Star Book Kicks Retirement Blahs

Energize Your Retirement: Stories of Passionate Pursuits
Christine Sparacino http://www.christinesparacino.com/book/
Subject: Retirement
ISBN: 978-0-9905669-2-2
Available on Amazon.
Five Stars

Reviewed by Doug Nordman originally for Goodreads

I've read literally dozens of retirement books, and this is the most constructive one yet! One of the "problems" with retirement books is that many of the authors are not retired. They pontificate about the psychology or the health issues or the lifestyle without truly experiencing the challenges of a retired life. They quote studies or surveys that have already been thoroughly debunked by real retirees on Internet forums. I've been retired for over 12 years and I can quickly spot an "advisor" who lacks personal retirement experience.

Christine Sparacino neatly resolves this issue by interviewing over two dozen happy, healthy, fulfilled, successful retirees. Their ages range from their 50s to their 70s. Each person (or couple) has a passion that they retired for, and they've become experts at their new lifestyle. Some of them are coping with medical issues or old age, and they've adapted to make the best of their activity. Most of them spend very little money to enjoy their interests, and several of them generate enough revenue from their creativity to more than pay for their materials and equipment.

Ms. Sparacino adds information from websites, reference books, and other resources to help you decide whether to pursue these interests. You'll also find your inspiration for other lifestyles and hobbies that are mentioned in passing. The stories are not all rainbows and unicorns. Some retirees tried several different activities to find the ones they love. Others are limited by health or endurance and had to find ways to change or cut back. One woman did extensive research on non-profit bards before she found a match for her interests. Yet they've all found something that they enjoy, and they know exactly what they want.

My readers worry about retirement and the question "But... what will I do all day?!" Now they have plenty of answers to research

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

WOW Blog Tour Review Love My Friend Nina Amir's New Book for Authors

Title: Authorpreneur: How to Build a Business Around Your

Book


Author: Nina Amir


Web site: www.ninaamir.com

Genre: Writing Craft

Publisher: Pure Spirit Creations

Publication Date: October 22, 2014

E-Book: 85 pages

AISN: B00OT67PPO

Buy the book at Amazon 

Or at Smashwords 

 

BOOK REVIEW: AUTHORPRENEUR


Reviewed by Jodi Webb originally for The Muffin
I am good with words. I am not good with numbers, money, business plans. I suspect in that way I am similar to many writers. Nina Amir's book Authorpreneur: How to Build a Business Around Your Book addresses that shortcoming in many writers by providing a step by step map to transforming a book into a business that provides an author many opportunities to earn.

When I say "step by step" I am not exaggerating. Amir will provide an idea such as webinar. From there she will provide you with the names of several platforms you can use to set up webinars along with the positives and negatives of each platform. Then she provides both creative and technical directions on how to produce a webinar: how to transform your book/knowledge into a webinar and tips on technical issues such as when to hold a webinar, producing online registration pages, etc. I was amazed by just how much information was in this 85 page ebook! Even if you just adopt one of the ideas Amir provides you will be getting your money's worth. But don't think this book is all about online opportunities. Amir provides the same detailed attention to things just as speaking engagements and creating mini-books.

On the surface, this book lends itself more to nonfiction writing but with some adaption fiction or memoir writers will find information they can use. It will definitely have you evaluating your book in a new way. I recommend that all writers read Authorpreneur: How to Build a Business Around Your Book and see where Amir's ideas will lead them.

 
More about the Author: 

Nina Amir, the bestselling author of How to Blog a Book and The Author Training Manual, is a speaker, a blogger, and an author, book, and blog-to-book coach. Known as the Inspiration to Creation Coach, she helps creative people combine their passion and purpose so they move from idea to inspired action and positively and meaningfully impact the world as writers, bloggers, authorpreneurs, and blogpreneurs. Some of Nina's clients have sold 300,000+ copies of their books, landed deals with major publishing houses and created thriving businesses around their books. She is the founder of National Nonfiction Writing Month, aka the Write Nonfiction in November Challenge, and the Nonfiction Writers' University.

More about WOW Mini-Review Blog Tours:
 
WOW-Women on Writing organizes WOW Blog Tours of all lengths and types: everything from blog tours featuring interviews, guest posts, review and giveaways to social media reviews to tweet tours. We're also always open to new creations if you have something special in mind to promote your book. Nina is on one of our latest offerings, the WOW Mini Review Tour. The WOW Mini Review Tour launches with a review and giveaway on WOW's blog The Muffin http://muffin.wow-womenonwriting.com/2015/02/authorpreneur-how-to-build-business.html then moves on to at least six other blogs that feature a review as well as reposts of the review on spots such as Amazon, Goodreads, Pinterest, B&N and Powell's. To learn more about WOW Blog Tours contact us at blogtour@wow-womenonwriting.com.


 
 
-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Children's Picture Book Explores The Things We Forget About Losing Our Teeth

Book Title:                I Am NOT Selling My Tooth!
Author:                      Kelli Nielsen     
Illustrator:                Kelly Hawkins
Website:                     www.kelliandkellybooks.com  
Where to buy the book 
Genre:                        Picture Book (Ages 6-8)
ISBN:                         978-1503366077  (Paperback)
Publisher:                  Kelli and Kelly Books for Kids

 
Reviewed by Marlan Warren originally in "Dancing in the Experience Lane" Open Salon Blog

   

             “The kids in my class are losing their teeth. Yuck!”

                                        —“I Am NOT Selling My Tooth”

What is there to say about children’s “baby teeth” that has not already been said? On the face of it, the traditional equation is simple: 1 lost baby tooth = $ from a Tooth Fairy. Kelli Nielsen’s “I Am NOT Selling My Tooth” puts a charming spin on this scenario with heartfelt warmth and humor by taking the position that children are capable of making their own decisions about how to respond to the body changes that are part of growing older. It is a gentle examination of a rite of passage that adults, as well as children, can relate to and appreciate.


The story takes off when the rebellious Alec declares, “I’m keeping my teeth small just like me.” He doesn’t see why his teeth just can’t grow bigger as he grows bigger. The fact that Alec shares the same name as the author’s son, whom she thanks in the book’s Dedication along with her other son Austin, grounds the story in reality and gives it a very personal tone.

Enhanced by Kelly Hawkin’s fun illustrations that evoke a child’s abstract perception of space, color and line, “I Am NOT Selling My Tooth” never talks down to children, but is right there with the child’s need to have some autonomy in life choices, no matter how “small” they are. It takes readers on a tour of the tooth-loss phenomenon that includes sharks, baseball injuries and even an octopus that receives something other than money for its lost tooth.

I would recommend this book for any parent with a child about to lose a tooth or who has lost a tooth, and as an excellent educational aid for dentists. It might even be helpful for therapists and life coaches who wish to discuss life changes and the various options available for responding and adjusting to them—no matter how old we are.

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Sunday, January 25, 2015

An Author's Complete Guide for Using Book Fairs to Market Books

Title: Book Fairs for Authors
Subtitle: How to Leverage Book Fairs to Build Your Author Platform
Authors: Larry DeKay with Peggy DeKay
ISBN: 9780983414438
Genre: Nonfiction: Writing, Book Marketing, Reference
Publisher: Darby Press
Bonus Materials: Lists of book fairs, book festival, resources for authors, book expos and trade shows
 
 
Marketing whizzes Larry and Peggy DeKay have published Book Fairs for Authors: How to Leverage Book Fairs to Build Your Author Platform. Here’s what I love about it above and beyond what I wrote about book fairs in my The Frugal Book Promoter: The couple includes a lot of resources including lists of book fairs, book festivals, book expos, and trade shows and tells how book fairs can “impact speaking opportunities.” Peggy says, “Your book is not your baby… your book is your business.”
 
-----
Larry DeKay is a marketing strategist and event planner for The Business of Writing Today (Darby Press) and the Business of Writing Summit. He is also cohost of The Business of Writing Today podcast heard in over eighty countries. Peggy DeKay, award-winning author, speaker, and book coach, is his business partner.  


-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage thse reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Author Loves Valerie Allen's How-To Book for Authors

Title: Write, Publish, Sell!: Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Ideas for the Marketing Challenged 2nd Edition
Author: Valerie Allen
Author's Web site: www.ValerieAllenWriter.com
Genre: Non-fiction, Reference for Authors and Writing
ISBN 10: 1480043850
ISBN 13: 978 1480043855
Format: book and ebook
Purchase at: Amazon.com
For writers, new and experienced, as they move from writing to publication and marketing of their work. Practical suggestions to create and increase sales.

Reviewed by Jay Heavner, originally for Amazon  5 Star Review


This book is well worth the money. The information inside is very helpful in the fields of writing, getting published, and SELLING. I especially liked the part about SELLING. Once you have written your work, and found a publisher, you have to SELL. I have gotten my money back many, many times over with her helpful hints. You don't need to reinvent the wheel. Valerie Allen has written a great 'how to' book. She shares the short cuts she has learned the hard way. You will be a satisfied customer, take it from the author of, "Braddock's Gold," also on Amazon. You need this book.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Valerie Allen, psychologist, author, and speaker, writes fiction, nonfiction, and children's books. Her articles and short stories have been published in newspapers, online, in literary journals, and educational and mental health magazines.

She conducts seminars for educators, parents, medical and mental health professionals based on her motivational, self help book, Beyond the Inkblots: Confusion to Harmony. Professionally, she is a member of the National and Florida Association of School Psychologists, and board certified by the National Association of School Psychologists.

She is a popular speaker at writer's conferences, libraries, and community events using her book: Write, Publish, Sell! Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Ideas for the Marketing Challenged 2nd Edition.

She has written children's books for independent readers in grades three to five, Summer School for Smarties and Bad Hair, Good Hat, New Friends. She conducts workshops for students to foster their talent and creativity.

She is a member of the Space Coast Writer’s Guild, the National League of American PEN Women, Cape Canaveral Branch, and serves on the Board of Directors for The Creative Arts Foundation of Brevard, FL

She is also co-founder of Authors for Authors,which sponsors book fairs, book launches, and writing seminars for new and experienced writers.

Valerie Allen can be contacted via Facebook.com/Valerie.Allen.520, Twitter, VallenWriter@cs.com or http://ValerieAllenWriter.com 

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Author Love, Loves, Loves New Book for Authors

 
 
Title: Writing from the Senses 
Author: Laura Deutsch
Published: May 2014
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN 978-1-61180-044-9

 
Reviewed by Simi Silva originally for Goodreads 
 
 
          As soon as I saw the title ‘Writing from the Senses’ and read its description, I had to get my hands on this book. I couldn’t wait to delve in and find out the secret to writing a better novel. My glossy review copy with the inviting autumn lake scene on the cover arrived in the mail within two days, and I immediately tore open the package and started right in. Thankfully there wasn’t anything else vying for my attention at the time. I planned on reading it once through and then go back and make notes and do the exercises so that I could properly see the progress I could make on my novel which was sitting dejected in the corner collecting a film of dust. The idea tap on how to improve and finish it had run dry.
 
          Honestly, I only made it through the first run-through before the motivation to get working on the manuscript was running high. Every chapter gave me so many ideas that I really wanted to write them all down, and I should have but dang, I wanted to keep reading and savoring every morsel of every page, every paragraph, sentence and word the author had put before me. Yet without even doing the exercises at the end of each chapter, my creativity had been ignited and I was more than ready to revitalize my writing!  (Side note: I will definitely go back and reread it, make many notes in the margins, and do the exercises.)
 
            I started with one scene in the middle of the manuscript and before I knew it things were being described so vividly that it not only transformed the scene, but the storyline itself began to blossom, taking on a life of its own. Scene by scene I started changing things around, adding more depth to them and the characters within. My fingers were flying across the keyboard trying to keep up with my brain. Now instead of telling what was happening, I was showing the reader through descriptions via every one of our glorious senses. And I wondered, why didn’t I see any of this before?
 
          Maybe because as storytellers we’re programmed to tell the story. But by learning to write from the senses we allow the reader and ourselves in the process to enter into the characters’ head and feel like we are actually there with them.
 
When we are in tune to our senses we live more deeply, more productively. New memories are created and old ones relived. The suggestion is to keep a small notebook with you at all times and write these sensory experiences down as they happen or at least shortly afterwards. Capture the moment. For instance, what images, feelings or memories come to mind when I say - freshly baked bread with dollops of creamy butter melting into every crevice, warm sunlight shining through the mist onto the dew-kissed grass on a cool spring morning, the sweet fragrant scent and silky hair of a newborn baby, the sharp pain and instant rising heat from a wasp’s sting, or the delightful crunching sound of a car slowly driving over gravel? Internalize and make it personal. Now write about it.
 
            This just touches the surface of what ‘Writing from the Senses’ is all about. Travel to the exotic places the author has traveled to and relate to the same emotions which she and some of her students have through their amazing pieces of writing, along with trying out the 59 exercises that are certain to ignite and revitalize your writing.
 
            If you want to know the secret of how to take your writing to the next level, this is the book for you. Having it as a valuable reference guide with all the exercises and writing prompts in and of itself is a must for professional writers, those on their way to becoming professional writers, and those who just write for the sheer pleasure of writing.
Also, if you are in Mill Valley, California, sign up for one or more of Ms. Deutsch’s classes. Be sure to check out her website – http://www.lauradeutsch.com 

MORE ABOUT THE REVIEWER
Simran Silva is the author of  Tangible Dreams is available on Amazon.
“Sometimes, words alone aren’t enough to express how you feel…but set those words to melody, and you have music that says it all. If you’re in love, watch and share this with your special someone.” ~ Navin Kundra

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.