Treat Yourself to Literary and Poetry Books!

Search This Blog for Authors, Publishers, Reviewers and Books

Loading...

Add Your Logo or Avatar to This New Book Review Reader List:

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Interview: Wife of Submarine Vet Shares Experiences

Hi! I am Carolyn Howard Johnson, your trusty New Book Review blogger and author of the multi award-winning HowTo Do It Frugally Series of books for writers. This blog has heretofore been exclusive for reviews but I thought I’d do a special series of interviews after I chatted with Jeanie Loiacono, President of Loiacono Literary Agency – Where ‘can’t’ is not in our vocabulary!  I thought sharing the interviews would help the many subscribers and visitors to this New Book Review blog, including authors, reviewers, and, of course, readers who just might find a new favorite author among the featured books and authors.

So, today welcome Mary Nida Smith.

As the wife of a submariner, she lived through many troubled day. Her husband, Melvin T, Smith, was one of these honorable men. He is a lifetime member of the USS Submarine Veterans Inc., (Holland Club) and the Vice Commander of the USS Submarine Veterans Base, Mountain Home, Arkansas and also former member of the Idaho Spuds-USS Submarine Veterans of WWII and the Northwest Regions/Idaho/Montana/Oregon/Washington. Through it all, she stuck by him—and wrote.

Mary Nida Smith, author, freelance writer, poet and photographer has lived in several states, submitting and publishing in local magazines and newspapers. Magazines: The Ozarks Mountaineer, Ozarks, Arkansas Living, Good Old Days, Polaris (WWII), Grit, Northwest Living (Field Editor), Storyteller (photographed cover), Salute, Journal of the Ozarks and contributed to the anthologies Echoes of the Ozarks and Women in Nature. Newspapers: Magic Valley Farm Lines (South Idaho Press-Clark newspapers), Port Orchard Independent (Washington- weekly column), Ozark Mountain News (Mountain Home, AR), and Oregon Journal (Portland - book reviews). Newsletters: U.S. Submarine of Veterans of WWII (Arkansas Diamond Chapter), Salute, Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI- Australia), SCBWI-Missouri, SCBWI-Arkansas, Ozarks Writers League (OWL), and Missouri Writers Guild.
  1. What is your genre? Is it fiction or nonfiction? Nonfiction, but I do write other genres.
  2. What made you want to be a writer? My first/second grade teacher said she liked my stories. I had lots of sisters and brothers I use to tell stories to, since we had no books in the house.
  3. Of all the authors out there, who inspired you most? Jesus. Most were songs since we were a singing family.
  4. What is your writing style? Do you outline? Linearly? By scene? Why?  I outline in my head and then put it on paper. That’s what storytellers do.
  5. Do you write every day? How much? How long? I don’t write every day. I put words down every day. Sometimes they find themselves in a story or book.
  6. Do you think reading is as important to writing for an author? Why? Yes, that helps you learn.
  7. What are some of the things you would like to share with budding authors? Write, be yourself, don’t listen to naysayers and never give up.
  8. Do you have any marketing and promotional advice, referrals, tips you would like to share? Be the best sales person you can be; if you’ve ever worked in retail stores you would have had to, or you may lose your job. Be kind to everyone.
  9. Do you think conferences are beneficial? If so, what have you learned? Which ones do you frequent? Yes! Weekend retreats, workshops and conferences are great for making contacts, and learning from each other and speakers. Most of all, for me was to build confidence and to know I wasn’t dumb or silly to reach for my dream of being a writer.
  10. Where can we find you, your books and when is your next event? Just Google me and my books and blogs all come up. My latest nonfiction is, Heroes Beneath the Waves: Submarine Stories of the Twentieth Century, which I dedicated to my loving husband, Melvin, who went on “eternal patrol” November 2015. http://submarinestories.blogspot.com  Mary Nida Smith Events  Represented by Loiacono Literary Agency, Jeanie Loiacono http://www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com/authors/mary-nida-smith

MORE ABOUT THE SPONSORING AGENT

Jeanie Loiacono, President, Loiacono Literary Agency
A facilitator of dreams, Jeanie Loiacono represents over eighty authors. Her forte is mystery, romance, thrillers, historical/military/southern fiction, and all quality fiction/nonfiction. Her passion is to see her authors succeed.

“There is nothing more rewarding than to hold one of my author’s books and know I helped bring it to fruition. I am so blessed and privileged to be able to work with some of the most talented writers in the world.” Jeanie.L@llallc.net  www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE INTERVIEWS--TO FIND GREAT READING OR TO NETWORK WITH AUTHORS--PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG. YOU ARE A WELCOME ADDITION TO THIS FAMILY WHO LOVES BOOKS! YOU'LL FIND A WINDOW TO DO THIS AT THE TOP OF THIS BLOG PAGE.



----- 
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Monday, February 1, 2016

A FREE Book, Intro to New Sci-Fi Series

The Greatest Force in the Universe
Author: Dr Bob Rich
Author's Web site: https://bobrich18.wordpress.com
Genre: Science fiction
No ISBN: this book is available free, and is the lead-in to a series.


Reviewed by Gary Clough


The Greatest Force in the Universe, reviewed by Gary Clough

I wish I had Bill Sutcliffe’s intelligence and abilities, but I wouldn’t want his job with it. Humanity is killing all complex life on Earth (this is actually true: we’re officially in the 6th great extinction event of our planet), and aliens have come to help us. They’ve been genetically modifying people to ease us onto a better path, but note an active force opposing them. Unlike with millions of other species they’ve helped, humans are racing toward extinction anyway. So, as an emergency measure, they choose the most gifted of their “children” to be the Doom Healer. That’s Bill, aged only 14 at the start of the story.

I’m used to Bob Rich’s humour from his other writings, and I wasn’t disappointed. In the middle of a discussion of really serious topics like the nature of reality, or action like setting drug-addict rapist kids on the right path, there is the unexpected twist, or a choice or words, that makes me laugh.

As I’m writing this review, I’m halfway through the second volume, You Can’t Escape Destiny, and let me tell you, you’ve got to read on. I find this series as gripping as any science fiction I’ve ever read, and at the same time it makes me think about the most serious issues.
MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Dr Bob Rich has a wonderful, eclectic newsletter with a section in it for writers at Bobbing Around http://wp.me/P3Xihq-1 Learn more about him at 
http://bobswriting.com. Find what he considers his best book at http://bobswriting.com/ascending.html
Commit random acts of kindness
Live simply so you may simply live


----- 
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Sunday, January 31, 2016

Interview: Jim Garrison Pens Novel Set in Mekong Delta

Hi! I am Carolyn Howard-Johnson, your trusty New Book Review blogger and author of the multi award-winning HowTo Do It Frugally Series of books for writers. This blog has heretofore been exclusive for reviews but I thought I’d do a special series of interviews after I chatted with Jeanie Loiacono, President of Loiacono Literary Agency – Where ‘can’t’ is not in our vocabulary!  I thought sharing the interviews would help the many subscribers and visitors to this New Book Review blog, including authors, reviewers, and, of course, readers who just might find a new favorite author among the featured books and authors.

So, today welcome Jim Garrison


  • What is your genre? Is it fiction or nonfiction?
    • I mostly write fiction, typically a cross between genre and literary fiction. My first novel, QL 4, is both historical fiction and a literary crime novel set in the Mekong Delta in 1970 during the Vietnam War. 
  • What made you want to be a writer? As long as I can remember, I’ve been fascinated with books and the doors they open, both in the mind and in life.  So I thought, Why not create my own literary canvas drawn from my experiences and observations and render these tales in a way that entertains and informs?
  • Of all the authors out there, who inspired you most? There were many writers of all stripes who inspired me, but Ernest Hemingway is probably the one who gave me the writing bug in my teens, especially A Farewell to Arms.
  • What is your writing style? Do you outline? Linearly? By scene? Why? Going back to when I practiced law, I start with a lump of clay: ideas jotted down on sticky notes and scratch paper, then in a notebook dedicated to the novel.  The first part of the notebook may be ruminations about characters or even a story arc.  As the concept develops, I begin a list of characters with their descriptions and back story, a timeline, and a chapter outline (based on different scenes).  To start writing, I “outline” in a way that usually ends up getting every scene and character down on paper.  Next I flesh out the story (description, characters, and dialogue) in long hand until I have a complete novel that may be hundreds of pages. I try to be flexible; writing chapters out of order, revising, deleting, changing course.  From those handwritten pages, I type a manuscript, which I deem my first real draft.  
  • Do you write every day? How much? How long? When I’m not travelling, I usually write or edit, every day, but I have no set schedule (and my writing may take other forms than fiction, from poetry to legal documents).  When I’m working on a novel, I usually spend no more than two or three hours a day unless I have a deadline.
  • Do you think reading is as important to writing for an author? Why? How can you write without reading: fiction, nonfiction, current events, poetry, comics?The wider your range of knowledge, the deeper your insights into people, the human condition, everything.  Also, knowing what the reading public reads helps the author write for his or her chosen audience.
  • What are some of the things you would like to share with budding authors? Get something on the page, no matter how rough, inelegant, or incomplete.  Keep a journal, write a description of a place or person or event.  Observe everything and everyone around you.  Listen, eavesdrop.  Cancel cable television.
  • Do you have any marketing and promotional advice, referrals, tips you would like to share? From my scant experience, you must have a platform, including a good website that shows you know your subject.
  • Do you think conferences are beneficial? If so, what have you learned? Which ones do you frequent? Certainly conferences can be beneficial.  Here and there, I’ve picked up some writing tips, but most valuable has been the interaction with other writers and a few agents and editors. I’ve been to the Pike’s Peak Writers Conference several times, as well as to conferences sponsored by the Houston Writers Guild and the Writers’ League of Texas.  I also attended the Maui Writers Conference once in its heyday.
  • Where can we find you, your books and when is your next event? https://jamesdgarrison.wordpress.com/ Johnnie Bernhard with Loiacono Literary Agency represents my novel QL4 (available for acquisition), a brutally honest, unflinchingly poetic, final test for a disillusioned American GI as he searches for an honorable way out of his predicament during the Vietnam War.  http://www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com/authors/jim-garrison/


MORE ABOUT THE SPONSORING AGENTS

Agent Johnnie Bernhard is a former English teacher and journalist whose life’s work has been writing and reading.  A published author, her work has appeared in newspapers and magazines, both nationally and internationally.  Johnnie believes that good writing has the ability to transform and transport the reader.
            Her novel, A Good Girl, a second finalist in the 2015 William Faulkner-William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition, is available for acquisition.
Genres:  Literary Fiction, Women’s Literature, Faith-Based Literature, Southern Literature, Historic Fiction, Memoir, and Nonfiction.

Jeanie Loiacono, President, Loiacono Literary Agency
A facilitator of dreams, Jeanie Loiacono represents over eighty authors. Her forte is mystery, romance, thrillers, historical/military/southern fiction, and all quality fiction/nonfiction. Her passion is to see her authors succeed.
“There is nothing more rewarding than to hold one of my author’s books and know I helped bring it to fruition. I am so blessed and privileged to be able to work with some of the most talented writers in the world.” Jeanie.L@llallc.net  www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com


IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE INTERVIEWS--TO FIND GREAT READING OR TO NETWORK WITH AUTHORS--PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG. YOU ARE A WELCOME ADDITION TO THIS FAMILY WHO LOVES BOOKS! YOU'LL FIND A WINDOW TO DO THIS AT THE TOP OF THIS BLOG PAGE.



---- 
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Saturday, January 30, 2016

Interview: Creative Nonfiction Writer Gives Career Advice to Budding Authors



Hi! I am Carolyn Howard Johnson, your trusty New Book Review blogger and author of the multi award-winning HowTo Do It Frugally Series of books for writers. This blog has heretofore been exclusive for reviews but I thought I’d do a special series of interviews after I chatted with Jeanie Loiacono, President of Loiacono Literary Agency – Where ‘can’t’ is not in our vocabulary!  I thought sharing the interviews would help the many subscribers and visitors to this New Book Review blog, including authors, reviewers, and, of course, readers who just might find a new favorite author among the featured books and authors.

So, today welcome Diane Yates.

Diane Yates is a member of the Columbia Chapter of the Missouri Writer’s Guild and the President of the Ozarks Writers League.  The sequel to Pathways of the Heart, All That Matters, is due for release April 2016.

What is your genre? Is it fiction or nonfiction? My first two books, Pathways of the Heart and All That Matters, are creative nonfiction.

What made you want to be a writer? I write to be read. From a young age, I wrote skits and loved creating or telling a story. My desire is to evoke feelings from my readers: feelings of joy, peace, love, romance, and empathy, just to name a few. I would love for them to laugh, cry, and rally for my protagonists. When they read the words ‘THE END,’ and close the cover, nothing would please me more than if the book they’d just finished would inspire them to be a better person. Change the world, so-to-speak, one reader at a time.

Of all the authors out there, who inspired you most? As a teenager, I waited eagerly for the release of Jane Aiken Hodge’s next book, which was about one a year. I devoured each one with its strong female protagonist immersed in diverse conflicts set amidst riveting historical events. As an adult, there are many authors such as Tom Clancy, John Grisham, Nicholas Sparks, Janette Oke, LaVyrle Spencer, and Karen Kingsbury.

What is your writing style? Do you outline? Linearly? By scene? Why? I find that I outline by scene. In writing creative nonfiction, I don’t want to miss pivotal points that often add to the complex character of my hero or heroine. Outlining helps me see the big picture.

Do you write every day? How much? How long? My goal is to write each day. However, it’s important for me to be inspired, and, when that inspiration arrives, I follow, no matter how long the journey.

Do you think reading is as important to writing for an author? Why? For me, I love to read, and I’m sure I learn writing techniques and style in the process.

     What are some of the things you would like to share with budding authors? When I began writing novels, I forgot to pray for direction. Instead I was writing just for fun. My advice for budding authors is to seek guidance regarding the purpose of your writing. Whether it’s fiction or whatever genre, you want people to read your work. Consider how your words are adding to the lives of your readers. E.B. White, author of Charlotte’s Web, said, A writer has the duty to be good, not lousy; true, not false; lively, not dull; accurate, not full of error. He should tend to lift people up, not lower them down. Writers do not merely reflect and interpret life, they inform and shape life.”

Do you have any marketing and promotional advice, referrals, tips you would like to share? I struggle with marketing and promotion and therefore welcome advice from others instead of sharing my lack of knowledge!

Do you think conferences are beneficial? If so, what have you learned? Which ones do you frequent? Connecting with other writers and industry professionals at a conference, and learning from them, is vital in improving your craft. I’m a member of local writing groups, such as the Ozarks Writers League and The Columbia Writers Guild, and attend their conferences as well as others that offer topics or speakers of interest.

      Where can we find you, your books and when is your next event? My website contains information about my books, my faith, and other personal data. My book, Pathways of the Heart may be found on: Amazon  Hudson Book Sellers  B&N  BAM  IndieBound  The Book Depository  Shelfari  GoodReads Pathways of the Heart Reviews I will be speaking on the consequences of “Choices Along our Path” at the Meet the Authors Festival on Saturday February 6, 2016 from 9:30 am to 2:00 pm at Kimberling Area Library (KAL), 45 Kimberling Blvd, Kimberling City, MO 65686. http://www.kalib.org/  www.dianeyates.com Represented by Loiacono Literary Agency, Jeanie Loiacono http://www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com/authors/diane-yates/
    
MORE ABOUT THE SPONSORING AGENTS

Jeanie Loiacono, President, Loiacono Literary Agency
A facilitator of dreams, Jeanie Loiacono represents over eighty authors. Her forte is mystery, romance, thrillers, historical/military/southern fiction, and all quality fiction/nonfiction. Her passion is to see her authors succeed.
“There is nothing more rewarding than to hold one of my author’s books and know I helped bring it to fruition. I am so blessed and privileged to be able to work with some of the most talented writers in the world.” Jeanie.L@llallc.net  www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com



IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE INTERVIEWS--TO FIND GREAT READING OR TO NETWORK WITH AUTHORS--PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG. YOU ARE A WELCOME ADDITION TO THIS FAMILY WHO LOVES BOOKS! YOU'LL FIND A WINDOW TO DO THIS AT THE TOP OF THIS BLOG PAGE.

----- 

The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

World of Ink Network Reviews Middle School Adventure


 

Title: The Search for the Stone of Excalibur
Series: Book Two in The Chronicles of the Stone
Author: Fiona Ingram
Author's Web site: http://www.fionaingram.com
Genre: Middle Grad Fantasy Adventure
ISBN 978 1622492183
Publisher: The Educational Publisher / Biblio Publishing
Reviewer's Rating: 4 Stars
Available at 

 Reviewed by Ashley Renee at World of Ink Network
The Story of Two Boys’ Journey and Their Quest to Solve an Ancient Mystery

Continuing the adventure that began in Egypt a few months prior in The Secret of the Sacred Scarab, cousins Adam and Justin Sinclair are hot on the trail of the second Stone of Power, one of seven ancient stones lost centuries ago. This stone might be embedded in the hilt of a newly discovered sword that archaeologists believe belonged to King Arthur: Excalibur.

Blurb from the book:

“The spectral figure drew his sword from its scabbard and held it aloft. It seemed to Adam that he saw every detail with strangely magnified clarity. It was the same sword from the museum, but it looked so different now. The metal gleamed with a peculiar bluish sheen. Curious characters embossed the length of the blade. At the top, just under the crossguard, was a small circle with a seven-pointed star inside it. Sparkling gems decorated the hilt and pommel, with two dragons’ heads facing inward on the crossguard. The stone between the dragons’ open mouths glowed brilliant red. Suddenly, a fiery, almost blinding light shot from the stone, dazzling him. The white horse reared on its hindquarters. The radiant beam lit up the forest as the warrior whirled the blade around his head several times.”

Review:

Just like the first book, the history is a fascinating element to the plot and I learned a lot about King Arthur and his legend. The author includes a well-organized, detailed guide with an array of information about the Dark Ages, King Arthur, and some of the symbolism of the time. "The Search for the Stone of Excalibur" is even better than the first book in the Chronicles of the Stone series. The story is fill with action and adventure, and I must say that I have always enjoyed reading anything having to do with the legend of Arthur or with Camelot itself. The author does just an amazing job and not only shares this legend but also adds in puzzles, ghostly presences and stalwart companions ready to face any and all perils that come their way.

Book extras include some historical background on King Arthur, the Dark Ages, warfare and weaponry during Arthur’s time, and details on Excalibur. A fascinating peek into the life and times of the real King Arthur, perfect for young time travelers and budding archaeologists.

Book Award Nominations & Wins:
2015 Children’s Literary Classics Award Seal of Approval and finalist
2015 Children’s Literary Classic Silver Medal (Pre-teen & Tween)
Book Links:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1622492188
B&N (Kindle) http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-search-for-the-stone-of-excalibur-fiona-ingram/1120452451?ean=2940046210439

 About the Author 

Fiona Ingram (B.A., Hons. (Natal), M.A., (Wits)) was born and educated in South Africa, and has worked as a full-time journalist and editor. Her interest in ancient history, mystery, and legends, and her enjoyment of travel has resulted in The Secret of the Sacred Scarab, the first in her exciting children’s adventure series—Chronicles of the Stone. Fiona is busy with Book 3 entitled The Temple of the Crystal Timekeeper.

About World of Ink Network

Virginia S. Grenier is founder and partner of World of Ink Network, http://worldofinknetwork.comOffice: 435-625-1743
She is also and author and director of the St. George Book Festival http://stgeorgebookfestival.org.  
Learn molre Facebook ond  follow her on  Twitter . 



----- 

The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Interview: Author Student of Gullah and Geechee Cultures

Hi! I am Carolyn Howard Johnson, your trusty New Book Review blogger and author of the multi award-winning HowTo Do It Frugally Series of books for writers. This blog has heretofore been exclusive for reviews but I thought I’d do a special series of interviews after I chatted with Jeanie Loiacono, President of Loiacono Literary Agency – Where ‘can’t’ is not in our vocabulary! I thought sharing the interviews would help the many subscribers and visitors to this New Book Review blog, including authors, reviewers, and, of course, readers who just might find a new favorite author among the featured books and authors.

So, today welcome Stephen Doster.

Stephen Doster was born in England and grew up on St. Simons Island, Georgia. He is a student of history and has extensively researched the Gullah and Geechee cultures of South Carolina and Georgia. He received a degree in Marketing from the University of Georgia and has recently received his Master of Liberal Arts and Science degree with a certificate in history. Doster has appeared at BookExpo, the Southern Festival of Books, the Amelia Island Book Festival, The Southern Kentucky Book Fest and has spoken at colleges, historical societies, and library associations in Georgia, Kentucky, and Tennessee. He has been interviewed on public radio and television in Mississippi, Tennessee, Florida, and Georgia. Currently, he is an assistant editor for a peer-review journal at Vanderbilt University. His other works include: Voices from St. SimonsLord BaltimoreGeorgia WitnessJesus TreeShadow Child, Rose Bush and Her Finest Hour.

1 What is your genre? Is it fiction or nonfiction? All of the above. I’ve written several novels, a couple of oral histories, a book of short stories, and a WWII memoir. I try to write something new and different each time. Probably not the best approach to building an audience, but I sleep well at night.
2 What made you want to be a writer? Living in the South, and especially on the Georgia Coast surrounded by Gullah/Geechee communities. I grew up listening to gifted storytellers. However, I’m not a great raconteur in the oral tradition, so I gravitated to telling stories via the printed word.
3 Of all the authors out there, who inspired you most? Cervantes. He knocked down a lot of walls for future writers. Don Quixote remains a thoroughly modern novel after 400 years.
4 What is your writing style? Do you outline? Linearly? By scene? Why? I start with the seed of an idea and go from there without outlining, at least not on paper. It’s like taking a journey and constantly asking, “What happens next?” and then answering that question. When the journey’s done, the book is finished. When I need to work out a plot idea, I take a long walk. Something about being in motion gets the creative juices flowing.
5 Do you write every day? How much? How long? I have adopted the Ringo Starr approach to writing. He doesn’t practice on the drums. He just lays down a rhythm when it’s time to play. I write a lot in the course of my regular (full time) job. So, when it’s time to write a book on my time, I’m primed.
6 Do you think reading is as important to writing for an author? Why? Most of my inspiration and ideas come from reading (especially historical books). I think this is true for most writers. Otherwise, it’s like asking a musician to create a song without having heard other musical works or asking a painter to create something without having seen other paintings. Without reading, you’re recreating the wheel, and probably not doing a good job of it, regardless of the genre you’re in. Another benefit is that reading provides the research required to be historically accurate or to inspire new ideas for a work in progress. Nothing dislodges a reader from the story—or embarrasses a writer—like inaccuracies, historical or otherwise.
7 What are some of the things you would like to share with budding authors? Write what interests you and trust that it will resonate with others (to paraphrase Emerson). If you have a family to support, write whatever pays the bills. You might have to do the latter to support the former.
Do you have any marketing and promotional advice, referrals, tips you would like to share? If you can afford it, hire a good PR person. With the right machine behind you, you can sell a lot more books.
Do you think conferences are beneficial? If so, what have you learned? Which ones do you frequent? Leave each conference having learned at least one thing or having made at least one connection that will benefit your writing career. It might be an inspired talk or simply meeting another writer who is now a new friend for life.
10 Where can we find you, your books and when is your next event? You can find me at www.sdoster.com Goodreads Amazon Author Central All books can be found on all the online sites:  Amazon Fish Pond BAM B&N IndieBound Shelfari Powell’s Books Wheeler’s Books  IDreamBooks COPIA Book Depository and more.
Represented by Loiacono Literary Agency, Jeanie Loiacono http://www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com/authors/stephen-doster/


MORE ABOUT THE SPONSORING AGENT
Jeanie Loiacono, President, Loiacono Literary Agency
A facilitator of dreams, Jeanie Loiacono represents over eighty authors. Her forte is mystery, romance, thrillers, historical/military/southern fiction, and all quality fiction/nonfiction. Her passion is to see her authors succeed.
“There is nothing more rewarding than to hold one of my author’s books and know I helped bring it to fruition. I am so blessed and privileged to be able to work with some of the most talented writers in the world.” Jeanie.L@llallc.net www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com


IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE INTERVIEWS--TO FIND GREAT READING OR TO NETWORK WITH AUTHORS--PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG. YOU ARE A WELCOME ADDITION TO THIS FAMILY WHO LOVES BOOKS! YOU'LL FIND A WINDOW TO DO THIS AT THE TOP OF THIS BLOG PAGE.



----- 
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Interview: Journalist Writes Comics! and Science Fiction

Hi! I am Carolyn Howard Johnson, your trusty New Book Review blogger and author of the multi award-winning HowTo Do It Frugally Series of books for writers. This blog has heretofore been exclusive for reviews but I thought I’d do a special series of interviews after I chatted with Jeanie Loiacono, President of Loiacono Literary Agency – Where ‘can’t’ is not in our vocabulary!  I thought sharing the interviews would help the many subscribers and visitors to this New Book Review blog, including authors, reviewers, and, of course, readers who just might find a new favorite author among the featured books and authors. I hope you'll submit your favorite review or interview. Guidlines are in the left column of this blog.

So, today welcome Richard Paolinelli.

Paolinelli is the author of the sci-fi novel Maelstrom (Smashwords) and two short stories: sci-fi short The Invited (Smashwords) and the mystery/thriller short Legacy of Death (Smashwords). He served as the story writer for the first two issues of the Elite Comics series, SeadragonSeadragon #1 (Elite Comics, 1986) Seadragon #2 (Elite Comics, 1986). He is also an award-winning writer for newspapers in California and New Mexico and has written for many magazines and websites across the country. He is now working on the outlined sequels: Betrayals, Shades, and Endgames

  1. What is your genre? Is it fiction or nonfiction? I write mystery-thrillers as well as science fiction and sports non-fiction.

  1. What made you want to be a writer? When I was in grade school I was always coming up with “stories” that I would write down and I haven’t ever stopped.

  1. Of all the authors out there, who inspired you most? At first it was Edgar Allan Poe and H.G. Wells. But more recently, I would have to say Jack McDevitt.

  1. What is your writing style? Do you outline? Linearly? By scene? Why? I like to create three dimensional characters that the readers can fully connect with, put them into a situation that really puts them to the test and hopefully take the reader on a great ride from the first page until the last. I outline because I like have each step of the story fully laid out before I begin. The one quirk I have is that I write the opening chapter first and then I write the last chapter before going back to end of the first chapter and finishing the story from there.

  1. Do you write every day? How much? How long? I try to write every day (when life manages to stay out of the way long enough of course) and for as long as I can. (Anywhere from an hour up to a 14-hour marathon I put in during From The Fields).

  1. Do you think reading is as important to writing for an author? Why? I do. You can learn a lot about crafting a story by reading other stories, especially those in the genre you are writing in.  

  1. What are some of the things you would like to share with budding authors? Keep writing, no matter what. It took me 15 years from the time I sat down and decided to write my first sci-fi novel until the time I had finished it and it was published. My mystery-thriller, Reservations, which was just released is the prequel to a movie script I wrote in 1998. The lesson is: Never give up on your writing, no matter how gloomy things may appear to you at the present.

  1. Do you have any marketing and promotional advice, referrals, tips you would like to share? Be relentless and shameless. Never pass up an opportunity to post a link to your book on social media no matter how much of a stretch it may seem to be. I once posted a flyer about one of my books in a sandwich shop.

  1. Do you think conferences are beneficial? If so, what have you learned? Which ones do you frequent? I do. You get a chance to meet potential readers face to face. Sometimes you will sell a few books. Sometimes you won’t sell a thing, but someone you met at the event will buy a copy online and hopefully tell their friends how good your book was and how cool it was that they met you.

  1. Where can we find you, your books and when is your next event? My website is: www.richardpaolinelli.com and all of my books are on the main page. Click on the covers and the link will take you to each book’s page on Amazon.com. I have a radio appearance on Dec. 13th but my next in-person event is the Tucson Festival of Books at the University of Arizona on March 12th & 13th. www.richardpaolinelli.com  Paolinelli Events www.facebook.com/RichardPaolinelli1964 Represented by Loiacono Literary Agency, Jeanie Loiacono http://www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com/authors/richard-paolinelli/

MORE ABOUT THE SPONSORING AGENT

Jeanie Loiacono, President, Loiacono Literary Agency
A facilitator of dreams, Jeanie Loiacono represents over eighty authors. Her forte is mystery, romance, thrillers, historical/military/southern fiction, and all quality fiction/nonfiction. Her passion is to see her authors succeed.

“There is nothing more rewarding than to hold one of my author’s books and know I helped bring it to fruition. I am so blessed and privileged to be able to work with some of the most talented writers in the world.” Jeanie.L@llallc.net  www.loiaconoliteraryagency.com


IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE INTERVIEWS--TO FIND GREAT READING OR TO NETWORK WITH AUTHORS--PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG. YOU ARE A WELCOME ADDITION TO THIS FAMILY WHO LOVES BOOKS! YOU'LL FIND A WINDOW TO DO THIS AT THE TOP OF THIS BLOG PAGE.


-------
 The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.